The first accident

11 Oct

Now before i get into it, you can rest assured that I’m fine and nothing is broken. This morning moving along the road I hit a dip a little hard and all at once my front wheel ate my front fender and pannier and I did a full flip when the wheel siezed. Abby saw me fly and I landed on the side of the road with the bike next to me. The wheel was bent out shape, left brake was a little loose and tore a hole in my front left pannier and my perfect Pearl Izumi rain jacket. To add insult to injury, we found that the bungee cable had rubbed a hole in my thermarest.

After we picked up the mess we back tracked about 3 kilometers to a bike service stand and had my wheel retuned and tightened all the loose bits for about 1000fl.

Now I wish I could end thus sad, frustrating tale there but after another 10k my wheel decided to swallow the same pannier again, tearing off one of the brackets and throwing the freshly tuned spokes out of wack again! We were able to use zip ties (a cycle tourists best friend) to strap the bags, wrench the eyelets back to place and hobble the bike into Budapest. Needless to say, I am suffering technical difficulties. But I’m fine! I think Abby got more shook up than I did. I’m feeling sore and lament destruction of my gear but tommorow is another day and Budapest has a Bike Kitchen.

Sent from my NOOKcolor

4 Responses to “The first accident”

  1. Marina V. October 11, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I’m so sorry to hear that. :/ I’m glad to hear that you’re okay and that the two of you made it into Budapest safely. Take care and I hope you’re not too sore from the fall. Please give my regards to Abby. 🙂

  2. hi October 12, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    Davi, I hope you are really OK, be more careful, I think more south you go, the roads will be in worse shape. Take a little rest in Budapest, hopefully you will find good place to stay. We think about you two all the time, please say hi to Abby. Love mom and dad

  3. Lenka October 12, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    OMG, happy u r okay!
    I also know, how is it to fly from the bike..Thanks God you landed safely without any serious injury.
    Be safe, my frinds, holding my thumbs!

  4. SB(ZP) October 12, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Panniers: The bane of many a touring cyclist.
    Post pics of the kick stand! I want to see how snazzy it is.

Leave a Reply

